Tuesday, October 30, 2007

The Travellin' Shit Creekers

The Shit Creek Review's January issue will have the theme of Travelling. Poets may submit verse related in some way to that topic. Poems submitted can refer to imaginative, mental, emotional or spritual journeys as well as physical ones. Or the whole lot simultaneously if you like. Surprise us! The deadline for submissions is December 3rd. Submission gudelines may be found here:

SCR Submissions

Writers who have featured in recent Shit Creek Reviews include

-Tom Sheehan who has nine Pushcart nominations and numerous published books,

-Claudia Gary, published in The Formalist, Light Quarterly, The Lyric, Orbis, Pivot, and Edge City Review),

-C.E. Chaffin, much-published former editor of the Melic Review,

-Alison Brackenbury, author of numerous books, whose Carcanet collections include Dreams of Power (1981), Breaking Ground (1984), Christmas Roses (1988), Selected Poems (1991), 1829 (1995), After Beethoven (2000) and Bricks and Ballads (2004), whose poems have been included on BBC Radio 3 and 4, and whose 1829 was produced by Julian May for Radio 3; her work recently won a Cholmondeley Award,

-C.B. Anderson of the PBS series Victory Garden,

-John Whitworth, author of ten books of poetry, who has been a reviewer of poetry for Poetry Review and a general reviewer for The Spectator, and whose poems have appeared in most of the leading poetry journals and magazines as well as in The Times and the Arts pages of The Independent,

-Kirk Nesset, Pushcart prizewinner whose poems and translations have appeared in The Paris Review, Ploughshares, The Southern Review, The Kenyon Review, Agni, Gettysburg Review, Iowa Review, The Sun, Fiction, Prairie Schooner and elsewhere,

-Rhina Espaillat, who has published numerous poetry books and translations and is a Nemerov Prize winner,

-A.E. Stallings, author of numerous books and translations, who has appeared in The Best American Poetry series (1994 & 2000) and has received numerous awards, including a Pushcart Prize, the Eunice Tietjens Prize (1997) and the Frederick Bock Prize (2004) from Poetry, the James Dickey Prize from Five Points, and the Nemerov Sonnet Award,

-Wendy Videlock, whose work has appeared in Poetry, Pivot, The Lyric, The Susquehanna Quarterly, Blue Unicorn, The NeoVictorian/Cochlea and The Eleventh Muse,

-Kirby Wright, who has been nominated for two Pushcart Prizes and is a past recipient of the Ann Fields Poetry Prize, the Academy of American Poets Award, the Browning Society Award for Dramatic Monologue, the San Diego Book Award, and Arts Council Silicon Valley Fellowships in Poetry and The Novel

-Alan Sullivan who translated Beowulf with Timothy Murphy for A.B. Longman, and who has had poems in many venues, including The Hudson Review, Poetry, The Formalist, and Chronicles,

-Kei Miller, the author of The Fear of Stones and Other Stories (Macmillan 2006) and Kingdom of Empty Bellies (Heaventree 2005) whose new collection of poetry There Is An Anger That Moves, will be published by Carcanet in 2007 alongside an anthology New Caribbean Poetry which he edited,

-Tim Murphy who translated Beowulf with Alan Sullivan for Longman Cultural Editions, and whose most recent book of poetry is Very Far North, Waywiser Press (London), 2002,

R.S. Gwynn, who has published and edited numerous books and anthologies,

-Bob J. Clawson who has published work in journals as diverse as the Southern Review and Yankee, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Lancet, whose poems have appeared in Beloit Poetry Journal and Poet Lore.and who for the past seven years has managed the annual Robert Creeley Award in Acton, Massachusetts, where Creeley grew up,

-And of course, William McGonagall III, retired Arbroath haddock-smoker and great-grandson of the celebrated William Topaz McGonagall!

-And many more!


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home